Graduate award

Win 15,000 dKr for your thesis!

If you have produced a thesis that is related to a topic within the fields of fluid mechanics, then you now have the opportunity of making money from it. DANSIS would like to reward you for your efforts by offering you the chance to win the annual ‘Best Fluid Mechanics Thesis Award’. The prize is 15,000 Kr.

The award is given to a person or group of persons who, in an one year period up to 31st July, have submitted a completed thesis for review to a Danish institute of further education. The work’s content must primarily be focused upon a topic within fluid mechanics or one closely related. It can be experimentally, theoretically or numerically based, or a combination.

The DANSIS committee will judge the received theses and contact the winner directly. A short presentation (max 10 mins) of the winning project will be expected to be given by the recipient at the October DANSIS Seminar, where the prize will be presented.


  • The student/s need to be enrolled in a Danish institute of further education
  • The thesis must have been completed in a one year period up to 31st July
  • The thesis must be sent into DANSIS by 1st August at the latest
  • The thesis must have significant fluid mechanics content

Enter the competition

Send your thesis by e-mail to as a PDF file or a link

Previous winners

2023: Nicolai Arent Quist and Rasmus Haurum Johansen “Validation of a Full Scale CFD Model of a Self-Propelled Ship with Measured Hull Roughness and Welded Seams”

2022: Rasmus Byrdal Kjær “Experimental and CFD Analysis of Roll Damping of Installation Vessels”

2021: Christian Jæger “Full Cycle Simulation of Two-Stroke Marine Diesel Engine Using STAR-ICE”

2020: Emil Strøm og Anders Melander “Massively Parallel Nodal Discontinous Galerkin Finite Element Method Simulator for 3D Room Acoustics”

2019: Frederik L. Zafiryadis “Numerical modeling of droplet trajectories in pilot plant spray dryer fi tted with rotary atomizer”

2018: Allan Bjerg & Kristian Kristoffersen “Numerical Investigation of Flow Structures and Their Impact on Heat Transfer Performance in a Staggered Arrangement of Rectangular Winglet Pair Vortex Generators in a Fully Developed Channel Flow”

2017: Marcin Serdeczny “Infusion flow in composites processes”

2016: Henrik Mikkelsen & Mads Lund Steffensen “Full scale validation of CFD model of self-propelled ship”

2015: Robert Laugesen & Anders Mandrup Hansen “Experimental Study of the Dynamic Response of the DTU 10 MW Wind turbine on a Tension Leg Platform”

2014: Stig Staghøj Knudsen “Sail Shape Optimization with CFD”

2013: Max la Cour Christensen & Klaus Langgren Eskildsen “Nonlinear Multigrid for Efficient Reservoir Simulation”

2012: Svend Skovgaard Petersen “CFD Modelling of a Biomass Incinerator for Prediction of Risk Areas for Corrosion Damages”

2011: Fredrik Herland Andersen “Numerical Simulation of the Flow in Fuel Nozzles for Two-Stroke diesel Engines”

2010: Kristian Ingvorsen “Experimental and Numerical Investigation of Mixing of two gas Streams”